CricInfo News

CricInfo Home
News Home

Rsa in Pak
NZ in India
Zim in Aus

Other Series

This month
This year
All years

SL schools scores
Daily News - Saturday 11, April 1998

Praneeth Chamara steers President's College to victory

The limited over cricket encounter for the Milo Trophy between President's College, Kotte and Mahanama College, Colombo, was played at the R. Premadasa stadium recently.

Mahanama College, batting first scored 208 for 8 wickets in 46 overs. President's College, chasing this total were 201 for 8 wickets in 44 overs when rain interrupted play. President's College emerged winners on a higher run rate due to an excellent unbeaten 87 runs by Praneetha Chamara Jayasundara. He had a 6th wicket partnership of 73 with Prabhashitha Caldera which contributed towards this victory. Jayasundara was adjudged Man of the Match.

Mrs. Soma Munindradasa, the first principal of President's College was the chief guest and Mr. Hector Bethmage, the chief government whip and member of the Western Province Provincial Council, who was guest of honour, presented the awards.

Mahanama College 208 for 8 wkts in 46 overs (C. Fernando 36, D. Perera 32, L. Munasinghe 27, Y. Gamlath 19, Ruvinda Sampath Jayawickrema 35 for 3 wkts).

President's College 201 for 8 wkts in 44 overs (Praneeth Chamara Jayasundara 87 not out, Chanaka Chandrasekera 38, Prabhashitha Caldera 18, Ruvinda Sampath Jayawickrama 17, Saman Rajapakse 37 for 2 wkts. Pubudu Sathyapala 37 for 2 wkts, Dinesh Bandara 31 for 2 wkts).

Best Batsman - Praneetha Chamara Jayasundara, President's College.

Best Bowler - Ruvinda Sampath Jayawickrama, President's College.

Man of the Match - Praneeth Chamara Jayasundara, President's College.

Battle of Kotte ends in a draw

The eighth Battle of Kotte between Ananda Sastralaya, Kotte and St. John's, Nugegoda ended in a draw at the Khetterama International Stadium last week.

St. John's taking first lease of the wicket were bundled out for 133 with Supun Kumarapperuma capturing 4 for 26. Ananda Sastralaya in reply scored 214 for 5 wickets with 16 year old Imran Samsudeen top scoring with 51 not out.

St. John's in their second innings scored 212 for 7 wickets with H. Kosala remaining unbeaten on 77 and he received the Best Batsman's Award.

Samsudeen also took six catches and was adjudged man of the match and best fielder while Kumarapperuma who had a match bag of 6 for 78 was adjudged the Best Bowler.

Chief scores:

St. John's, Nugegoda 133 (S. Prasanna 28, H. Rajapakse 24, S. Kumarapperuma 4 for 26) and 212 for 7 (H. Kosala 77 n.o, S. Prasanna 48, S. Kumarapperuma 2 for 52)

Ananda Sastralaya 214 for 5 (Imran Samsudeen 51 n.o, Manjuka Namal 38, Issanka Roshantha 27, Pradeep Silva 24)

Source: The Daily News